top of page


The International Accreditors for Continuing Education and Training (IACET) is the developer of the original Continuing Education Unit (CEU) and today ensures that providers of continuing education and training can prove they provide high-quality instruction by following the ANSI/IACET 1-2018 Standard for Continuing Education and Training through a rigorous accreditation process. The Standard is a universal model for learning process excellence. It defines a proven model for developing effective and valuable continuing education and training (CE/T) programs by measuring a provider's training program from procedure to process to result.

Standards for ANSI/IACET 1-2018

CEU Information

Many organizations offer some form of continuing education credit, but only the IACET CEU is held to the strict, research-based IACET Criteria and Guidelines for Continuing Education and Training. Only IACET Authorized Providers, who undergo a strict application and site-review process, can award the IACET CEU.


IACET Authorized Providers are required to re-apply and be reauthorized every five (5) years. The Continuing Education Unit (CEU) was created by IACET as a measurement of continuing education.


One (1) IACET CEU is equal to ten (10) contact hours of participation in an organized continuing education experience under responsible sponsorship, capable direction, and qualified instruction. Under IACET’s care, the IACET CEU has evolved from a quantitative measure to a hallmark of quality training and instruction

Requirements to Earn CEUs

1. Complete registration process, Pre-Training Questionnaire Form, and pre-test or assessment format.

bottom of page